Knitting is a Love Language

When my husband & I were getting married, we read Gary Chapman’s book The 5 Love Languages.  We were young and the wisdom we gained from reading this together was priceless.  As the title implies, the book explains that there are 5 love languages.  They are words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical touch.  However, I believe that there is a sixth love language, KNITTING!

IMG_0122Ask any knitter/crocheter how many items they have created for themselves, and they will most likely give a modest number of items.  I  have made 4 thing for myself.  Now, ask a knitter/crocheter how many items they have made for other people and you likely hear a much larger number.  I can’t even tell you how many things I’ve knitted for other people.  I stopped counting a long time ago.  Why is this? Because, knitting is a love language!

Now, according to Gary Chapman, my love language falls under acts of service & gift giving.  So, when I want to express my love and appreciation for someone, my most natural response is to knit something for them.  As I spend my time crafting each stitch, my heart & mind are pulled toward that person.  I pray for health and I pray for safety.  I pray for blessing and joy.  The piece I create becomes my prayer and it is my gift to the one I love.

What is your love language?


4 thoughts on “Knitting is a Love Language”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: